Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted March 18, 2010
NiteRider will be rolling through the U.S. in style for 2010.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 1, 2010
Here are the award winners from this year's handmade bike show that took place in Richmond, Virginia, over the weekend:
Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged North American Handmade Bicycle Show
Posted February 26, 2010
With its unique mix of bikes and brew, the Angry Catfish Bicycle and Coffee Bar is the latest hub of Minneapolis’ thriving bike culture. Keep reading for a bit on Cars R Coffins, a Minneapolis messenger scene mainstay for the past four years.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 26, 2010
Sunny skies, mild breezes and palm tree-lined streets offered the semblance of a beach side town.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 24, 2010
A shout out to Cactus Bike, Domenic's 2 Wheelers, Tempe Bicycle and Tribe Multisport for rolling out the red carpet.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 23, 2010
The BRAIN Dealer Tour kicked off on Tuesday morning amid sunny skies, but temps were--surprisingly--in the mid 40s.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 15, 2010
My hometown will soon be giving bike towns like Portland, Oregon, and Boulder, Colorado, a little friendly competition.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 5, 2010
Normally, I bang on a keyboard all day helping create content for the retailers who use our Web site service. So it was a treat to attend Park Tool's Tech Summit for a little hands-on and face-time. Held February 1-2 at the spacious Doubletree Hotel in downtown San Jose, California, it brought together technical gurus from Campagnolo, Fox, Hayes, Mavic, Park, RockShox, Shimano and SRAM to teach the latest tech tips and tricks to mechanics, some from as far away as Alaska, Hawaii, Taipei and Argentina.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 4, 2010
Tucked away in an unassuming building in an industrial park off Southern California's I-15 freeway, Intense Cycles is still manufacturing mountain bike frames long after most of its high-end peers have decamped to Asia. Chris Allen, the company's new general manager, said while manufacturing in So Cal is a costly business model, the company has still managed to make a profit every year.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 3, 2010
Had a chance to catch up with Santa Cruz marketing manager Scott Turner to discuss Western Spirit's new consumer event Outerbike.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 7, 2010
Mark Weir's Marin County home—that he shares with his wife, Sue, and son, Gus—burnt down on Christmas weekend, as a fire broke out in the garage and spread throughout their home.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 22, 2009
The moment I arrived in Copenhagen last week, the climate change talks ground to a halt. Delegates from the G-77 (poorer) countries walked out in disgust, just as thousands of official observers, me included, were queuing up outside the conference hall trying to get in. Neither story made the front pages back in the States but the Danish and European press was not happy at all.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 14, 2009
Fifty riders braved the inclement weather for Campy's annual toy drive and ride this past Saturday in Carlsbad.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 7, 2009
Anyone have $10k lying around? If you do, and are a collector of all things BMX, check out this auction on eBay.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 7, 2009
First, apologies are in order to Jeff Shupe, SRAM’s chief operating officer, and John Nedeau, SRAM’s director for OEM sales. They had taken a couple of hours out of a hectic schedule last Friday to take me through the company’s factory.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Taichung Bike Week
Posted November 30, 2009
Thanks for all the great stocking stuffers we received from everyone.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 24, 2009
While in Taiwan last week, TAITRA arranged a two-day schedule of factory visits in and around Taichung, as well as Tainan City. We made stops at JD Components, Ideal, Kind Shock, CST/Maxxis, SR Suntour and Rikulau—a new domestic supplier for titanium and steel complete bikes.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 20, 2009
Thanks for all the great stocking stuffers we received from everyone.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 20, 2009
Over in Taiwan for a preview of the Taipei Cycle Show as well as to visit a handful of factories in Taichung.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 19, 2009
Thanks for all the great stocking stuffers we received from everyone.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis