Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted October 30, 2009

It just so happened that the day BRAIN's West Coast sales rep Peter Kirkpatrick and I chose to visit a list of companies in the Boulder/Denver area was the same day the biggest early season storm in more than a decade blew in.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 23, 2009

Ray Keener passed along a (in progress) QBP survey to me a few days back, and the numbers clearly illustrate that the IBD majority still hasn't bought into carrying electric bikes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 20, 2009

Giant Bicycles hosted a two-day fundraiser to benefit Tara Llanes Road to Recovery and the Reeve-Irvine Spinal Research Center last week at Northstar in Lake Tahoe. The event, which raised $15,000, included a Jump Jam, a DH clinic with Giant pro Jared Rando, a DH set up and maintenance clinic with Frank Trotter and the premier of "New World Disorder 10," followed by a raffle and a beer garden.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 15, 2009

I don't think I've ever seen so many female riders in the same place at the same time as I did last night at Rock N Road in Mission Viejo.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 15, 2009

BRAIN wrapped up the Boston Dealer Tour on Wednesday with a 30-plus mile ride that wound us through the city on a beautiful, crisp Autumn day (no rain—yes!).

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 15, 2009

Thanks to Triathlete Magazine and all their hard work for compiling these numbers.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 13, 2009

The Dealer Tour crew slogged through a steady New England rain on Tuesday morning during our 12-mile trek into Cambridge.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 13, 2009

The BRAIN Boston Dealer Tour rolled out of Waltham, Massachusetts, Monday morning with a team of 15 riders from sponsors Giant, Pedro's, Speedplay, Panaracer, Craft and Lazer. The weather was a bit brisk, especially for us SoCal weather wimps, but we managed to stay dry, warm and caffeine infused (thanks Cycle Loft!) for much of the day.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 13, 2009

A lot can change in 10 years. On Friday I was able to witness some major changes taking place at my alma mater, the University of California Irvine, which I hadn’t returned to since graduating nearly a decade ago.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 5, 2009

I was up in Oregon this past weekend and took the opportunity to go to the kick-off of the massive Cross Crusade series near Portland to watch a friend race.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 30, 2009

So you weren't at Interbike, or you were at Interbike but missed one of BRAIN's Show Daily issues. Never fear, BRAIN is here—with all three Show Daily issues at your fingertips in PDF form.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 29, 2009

It’s time for us to quit kvetching about Interbike’s dates, its location, and whether the show needs to add a consumer day. It appears the industry—and its thousands of dealers—have spoken once again. Dealers flocked to Las Vegas last week like ducks winging south for winter.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted September 23, 2009

Check out some pics from this year's OutDoor Demo.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 22, 2009

Check out video from the Specialized Ride to Interbike for Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 20, 2009

I really didn’t knew what I was getting into when I signed on to join Specialized president Mike Sinyard, staff, dealers and fellow journalists for a 660-mile, six-day ride from Morgan Hill, California to Las Vegas for Interbike. But Mike had personally invited me and BRAIN publisher Marc Sani, a ride veteran, assured me it was an experience not to be missed. He was right.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 18, 2009

I'm not sure exactly when I got it into my mind that racing 'cross would be a good idea. I guess I've always been a bit intrigued by what looks to be pure agony at times, but also so much fun.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 14, 2009

Eurobike wrapped up this past weekend with a record-setting 39,152 trade visitors—a 6 percent increase over last year—21,000 consumer visits and 1,556 journalists from 36 countries.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 14, 2009

The industry kicked off the annual Eurobike tradeshow under a cloudless sky and warm temperatures at the Demo Day in Argenbühl, Germany, about a half hour bus ride from the exhibition hall in Friedrichshafen.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 9, 2009

It’s not all business at Eurobike. Show attendees Pat Hus, Chris Zigmont and Mike Johnston share their thoughts on German beer while enjoying a cold one in the Messe’s beer garden.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 9, 2009

BRAIN editor Megan Tompkins sat down with Scott Montgomery, general manager of Scott USA, at Eurobike to discuss the new consumer mentality, critical price points and how the industry is positioned going into next year

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis