Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted October 13, 2009

The BRAIN Boston Dealer Tour rolled out of Waltham, Massachusetts, Monday morning with a team of 15 riders from sponsors Giant, Pedro's, Speedplay, Panaracer, Craft and Lazer. The weather was a bit brisk, especially for us SoCal weather wimps, but we managed to stay dry, warm and caffeine infused (thanks Cycle Loft!) for much of the day.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 13, 2009

A lot can change in 10 years. On Friday I was able to witness some major changes taking place at my alma mater, the University of California Irvine, which I hadn’t returned to since graduating nearly a decade ago.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 5, 2009

I was up in Oregon this past weekend and took the opportunity to go to the kick-off of the massive Cross Crusade series near Portland to watch a friend race.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 30, 2009

So you weren't at Interbike, or you were at Interbike but missed one of BRAIN's Show Daily issues. Never fear, BRAIN is here—with all three Show Daily issues at your fingertips in PDF form.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 29, 2009

It’s time for us to quit kvetching about Interbike’s dates, its location, and whether the show needs to add a consumer day. It appears the industry—and its thousands of dealers—have spoken once again. Dealers flocked to Las Vegas last week like ducks winging south for winter.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted September 23, 2009

Check out some pics from this year's OutDoor Demo.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 22, 2009

Check out video from the Specialized Ride to Interbike for Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 20, 2009

I really didn’t knew what I was getting into when I signed on to join Specialized president Mike Sinyard, staff, dealers and fellow journalists for a 660-mile, six-day ride from Morgan Hill, California to Las Vegas for Interbike. But Mike had personally invited me and BRAIN publisher Marc Sani, a ride veteran, assured me it was an experience not to be missed. He was right.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 18, 2009

I'm not sure exactly when I got it into my mind that racing 'cross would be a good idea. I guess I've always been a bit intrigued by what looks to be pure agony at times, but also so much fun.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 14, 2009

Eurobike wrapped up this past weekend with a record-setting 39,152 trade visitors—a 6 percent increase over last year—21,000 consumer visits and 1,556 journalists from 36 countries.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 14, 2009

The industry kicked off the annual Eurobike tradeshow under a cloudless sky and warm temperatures at the Demo Day in Argenbühl, Germany, about a half hour bus ride from the exhibition hall in Friedrichshafen.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 9, 2009

It’s not all business at Eurobike. Show attendees Pat Hus, Chris Zigmont and Mike Johnston share their thoughts on German beer while enjoying a cold one in the Messe’s beer garden.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 9, 2009

BRAIN editor Megan Tompkins sat down with Scott Montgomery, general manager of Scott USA, at Eurobike to discuss the new consumer mentality, critical price points and how the industry is positioned going into next year

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 8, 2009

Another one of my dubious (yet curiously seductive) theories (mail me for a complete list of all 47):

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 27, 2009

I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer at the Bicycle Village store in Boulder. We had a huge Back-to-School tent sale last weekend. Six-figure sales in four days.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 21, 2009

I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer and doing weekly product training clinics at the five Bicycle Village stores.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 21, 2009

James Thomas with Serfas stopped by earlier in the week to show us some 2010 product. Click on the video below to check it out.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 17, 2009

A sampling of some of the new bikes and accessories Trek showed dealers last week at its 2010 product launch.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2009

One of my favorite parts of the trip this week to Trek World was checking out Madison's extensive bike network on a single-speed.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2009

BRAIN Sales guy Robert Roman and I visited Sports Multiplied in Carlsbad this week where Richard Verney and his team of 11 or so distribute Aussie brand 2XU, and soon Bont, an Australian brand of heat moldable cycling shoes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis