Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted September 29, 2009
It’s time for us to quit kvetching about Interbike’s dates, its location, and whether the show needs to add a consumer day. It appears the industry—and its thousands of dealers—have spoken once again. Dealers flocked to Las Vegas last week like ducks winging south for winter.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted September 23, 2009
Check out some pics from this year's OutDoor Demo.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 22, 2009
Check out video from the Specialized Ride to Interbike for Susan G. Komen for the Cure.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 20, 2009
I really didn’t knew what I was getting into when I signed on to join Specialized president Mike Sinyard, staff, dealers and fellow journalists for a 660-mile, six-day ride from Morgan Hill, California to Las Vegas for Interbike. But Mike had personally invited me and BRAIN publisher Marc Sani, a ride veteran, assured me it was an experience not to be missed. He was right.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 18, 2009
I'm not sure exactly when I got it into my mind that racing 'cross would be a good idea. I guess I've always been a bit intrigued by what looks to be pure agony at times, but also so much fun.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 14, 2009
Eurobike wrapped up this past weekend with a record-setting 39,152 trade visitors—a 6 percent increase over last year—21,000 consumer visits and 1,556 journalists from 36 countries.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 14, 2009
The industry kicked off the annual Eurobike tradeshow under a cloudless sky and warm temperatures at the Demo Day in Argenbühl, Germany, about a half hour bus ride from the exhibition hall in Friedrichshafen.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 9, 2009
It’s not all business at Eurobike. Show attendees Pat Hus, Chris Zigmont and Mike Johnston share their thoughts on German beer while enjoying a cold one in the Messe’s beer garden.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 9, 2009
BRAIN editor Megan Tompkins sat down with Scott Montgomery, general manager of Scott USA, at Eurobike to discuss the new consumer mentality, critical price points and how the industry is positioned going into next year
Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Eurobike
Posted September 8, 2009
Another one of my dubious (yet curiously seductive) theories (mail me for a complete list of all 47):
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 27, 2009
I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer at the Bicycle Village store in Boulder. We had a huge Back-to-School tent sale last weekend. Six-figure sales in four days.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 21, 2009
I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer and doing weekly product training clinics at the five Bicycle Village stores.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 21, 2009
James Thomas with Serfas stopped by earlier in the week to show us some 2010 product. Click on the video below to check it out.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 17, 2009
A sampling of some of the new bikes and accessories Trek showed dealers last week at its 2010 product launch.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2009
One of my favorite parts of the trip this week to Trek World was checking out Madison's extensive bike network on a single-speed.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2009
BRAIN Sales guy Robert Roman and I visited Sports Multiplied in Carlsbad this week where Richard Verney and his team of 11 or so distribute Aussie brand 2XU, and soon Bont, an Australian brand of heat moldable cycling shoes.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 7, 2009
I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer. I try to sneak in as many bike-fitting episodes as I can. There’s nothing more fascinating than each individual cyclist and how they relate to their bicycle.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 31, 2009
I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer. Goal #1: To get myself more familiar with the needs and thought processes of today's consumers. Goal #2: To find out what today's bike shop staffers are all about. What motivates them? What social networking are they doing?
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 31, 2009
I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer. Everyone I tell who also works retail wonders why. Everyone who used to work retail and now churns out product or press releases totally gets why.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 16, 2009
Chris King's Chris DiStefano was nice enough to share some pictures of this year's Downieville with us.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis