Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted April 2, 2009
So by now I'm sure everyone's read about Dorel's plan to consolidate its offices and move Cannondale's U.S. manufacturing overseas.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 24, 2009
Yesterday was the day that Lance and Twitter had the chance to make history.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 22, 2009
I just finished a fantastic week in the middle of the Pacific Ocean with the current UCI #1 ranked Trials rider in the world, Kenny Belaey from Belgium.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 19, 2009
Sheila Moon and her trusty sidekick Luna popped into the BRAIN offices earlier this week as they made their way from L.A. to San Diego on business.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 18, 2009
DZ (WTB's Dain Zaffke) sent me these awesome pics by the great Alan Davis from this past weekend's Keyesville Classic.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 15, 2009
Having reported on the launch of SmartBikeDC, the city’s new bike-share program, I couldn’t fly home from the Summit without checking out the bikes.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 13, 2009
After a full day of lobbying on the Hill yesterday, summiteers logged a total of 350-360 meetings with their state reps and senators, according to the League’s Andy Clarke.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 12, 2009
As I sit down for a brief break from what has been a packed day and a half of meetings, seminars and keynotes at the National Bike Summit, I’m still amazed at how much happens here over a very little span of time. This is my third year out here and it’s great to see the enthusiasm for bike projects and advocacy work hasn’t waned a bit.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 12, 2009
Lazer may not be a familiar helmet brand in the U.S. market, where Bell and Giro dominate, but it is the Bell or Giro of Europe, said Sean van Waes, manager of the bicycle division for Lazer Helmets, while visiting the BRAIN offices in late February.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 10, 2009
Just back from a lunch road ride, and on the way I back I decided to stop by and see Marcel Calborn, who owns BiciSport in Laguna Hills.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 10, 2009
I’ve been telemarketing for the last six weeks. Unlike most telemarketers, I love this job. Selling my stuff to bike retailers means catching up with old friends, swapping cycling, parenting and golfing stories, and… selling my stuff. It’s been an especially interesting year to talk to retailers, with the economic turmoil swirling about. Every conversation begins and ends with, “How are you doing? What are you hearing?”
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 5, 2009
Last year Chris King was just kicking around the idea of doing frames again.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 4, 2009
His business name: The Kinky Llama. His specialty: delivering sex toys faster than you can get a Domino's pizza. His mode of transportation: the bicycle.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 3, 2009
Chances are if you've worked in the bicycle industry long enough you know who Dave House is.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 2, 2009
As promised in my entry last week about One on One, I’m finally getting around to sharing some photos and thoughts from recent visits BRAIN sales guy Barry and I made to several bike companies in and around Minneapolis. Press deadlines and a short-lived cold (thankfully), kept me from tackling this blog entry sooner. But here goes.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 2, 2009
Below are the award winners from this year's Handmade Show with pictures.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 2, 2009
Had an interesting chat with the vp of communications over at the Motorcycle Industry Council last week about the CPSIA.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 1, 2009
Below are a few pictures from this year's Handmade Show.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 28, 2009
Speedway, Indiana isn't only home base for the Indianapolis 500, but also Zipp Speed Weaponry, which resides right down the street from the iconic raceway.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 27, 2009
Continuing his quest to be the next Anderson Cooper, BRAIN publisher Marc Sani interviewed Jay Graves, owner of Portland, Oregon's six-store chain the Bike Gallery, about the state of his business at the NBDA Super Seminar in Anaheim on Tuesday.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis