Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted November 9, 2012

Editor's note: The following column was written by Judy Amabile, the president of Polar Bottle Product Architect's Inc. and Adeline Bash, public relations associate for Polar Bottle Product Architect's Inc. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 3, 2012

My 19-year-old son Will crashed on his bike yesterday afternoon. Hit his head hard. He was wearing his Lazer helmet. He had a bit of a headache this morning.
 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 26, 2012
John Burke gave the keynote address at Interbike. Photo: Lynette Carpiet

Admittedly, all you have to do is hang out with the dark side of my family tree and you’ll realize they truly put the “funk” in dysfunctional. With that said, my late flight arrival only allowed me to hear the last half hour of John Burke's speech at the first ever industry breakfast.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted September 5, 2012
Ray Keener

It's not often that I quote the Bible. Or fall off my bike.

I'm old and cautious. My bones heal more slowly than they used to. Plus, I would surely perish if I couldn't ride my bike and play golf. So it had been decades since I've had a major bike mishap.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 24, 2012

In the spirit of “what would Leslie want us to be doing right now.”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 21, 2012

How the "model year" concept creates more problems than it solves...

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2012

Changes to production and supply channels have rendered model years obsolete.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 20, 2012

It all comes down to Money, Risk, and Chinese New Year

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 3, 2012

How do you get rich marketing to a non-enthusiast customer base?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 20, 2012

In terms of which brands are tops in which shops and/or markets, it’s not Trek, Giant, or Specialized that leads the pack.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 5, 2012

The latest NSGA numbers point to what might be a turnaround for the US bicycle business. Or not.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 22, 2012

A darker and often overlooked side to "flat sales."

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 18, 2012

Holy smokes someone is finally figuring out how to build an ebike.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 18, 2012

Are flat bike sales for the past 35 years a good thing or a bad thing?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 8, 2012

If the industry is serious about reaching beyond its enthusiast comfort zone, there is no shortage of ways to do so.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 1, 2012

For the umpteenth year, the most discussed topic at BLC was: How do we welcome that Casual, Non-Enthusiast rider?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 27, 2012

You might get lucky rolling out an alternative to paid advertising and do it less expensively.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 24, 2012

A move to embrace non-enthusiast categories may turn out to be a pretty big deal.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 20, 2012

BLC-style meetings can act as industry-wide catalysts for change.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis