Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted March 26, 2012

The press is working up a head of steam towards another round of stories about how the Usual Suspects did not invent the mountain bike.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 22, 2012

An urban cycling apparel maker responds to Rick Vosper's blog about Levi's.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 19, 2012

In much of the third world bicycles are capital equipment. You can change a life for $150.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 14, 2012

Periodically some corporate giant decides to step into the bike business to show us rubes how it's done.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 13, 2012

I’m turning into That Guy I Used to Hate … The Expert Counselor.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 13, 2012

Let's put $15 million per year back into retailer's pockets, and $7.5 million into advocacy's

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 13, 2012

It took a diagnosis of metastatic cancer to turn me into an optimist.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 8, 2012

The most encouraging industry trend in the past two decades has nothing to do with products. It’s the increase in industry advocacy awareness and the closely related rise of Bikes Belong.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 27, 2012

Dear Readers, There’s been some confusion among our readers about recent changes to our website, so I wanted to let you know what we’re doing and what we’re planning.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 24, 2012

With tongue firmly in cheek, a wheelbuilder makes the case for ceramic bearings.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 9, 2012

Why are all bike taillights cheap pieces of crap?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 4, 2012

Mr. McQuaid, are you listening?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 4, 2012

The owner of neuvationcycling.com weighs in on the brick-and-mortar vs. online debate

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 29, 2011

Maybe getting rid of bar codes will curtail price checking apps?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 21, 2011

Even Vegas-haters had to admit: This was the best Interbike show in recent memory.

And what a difference six months makes! This spring, the questions were flying:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 19, 2011

I confess: I’m conciliatory toward car drivers. And hard as hell on my fellow cyclists.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 26, 2011

That’s right I didn’t see anything in the product area that blew me away. And, of course, I’m sure I’ll get comments from some manufacturer that says they had the new "XYZ" wheel, bars, stem, frame material or saddle profile. Sorry I missed your freaking innovation.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 31, 2011

Bike racing: Meh. I used to be a tifosi. Stopped paying attention about the time Roy Knickman retired. Dave Towle would un-Friend me on Facebook if he only knew how little I cared.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 1, 2011

Ray Keener: OK, I’ve gotten in trouble before writing about the Gender Gap in cycling, so I’ve brought in a partner, Diane Lees from The Outspoken Cyclist in Cleveland, Ohio, to share the heat. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 1, 2011

Streets are narrow in Amsterdam. Minds are not.  An atmosphere of tolerance prevails. That most basic freedom, personal mobility, is joyfully expressed in the ceaseless stream of cyclists gliding about the city.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis