Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted February 28, 2011

The 2011 NAHBS Awards winners are as follows:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged North American Handmade Bicycle Show
Posted February 14, 2011

Can You Turn Less Into More? 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 27, 2011

I’ve followed professional wrestling for several decades. It’s the best integrated marketing on the planet and their longevity and strong financials are proof.  Ok, go ahead make fun of me because I know all about Ravishing Rick Rude and his signature move “The Rude Awakening”. Actually there’s a business model and competitive strategic approach I’ve implemented with several of my clients based on this piledriver’esque move. But I digress….. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 5, 2011

Share your thoughts and memories of Russ Okawa in our comments section down below.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 5, 2011

As the year draws to a close, it’s a perfect time to reflect and revisit the most influential news stories of the year.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 21, 2010

After two years, the final post in the series. (And about time, too.)

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 14, 2010

Six Ways Bike Industry Marketing Models Religious Cult Behavior

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 6, 2010

How bike companies profit by sponsoring zillion-dollar racing teams and advertising products that (almost) no one ever buys.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 30, 2010

…And other Unpleasant Facts Of Life The Bicycle Advocacy Movement Needs To Learn Real Darn Quick-Like

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 29, 2010

Today I sat with an anxiously ambitious CU student who interned for a client of mine.  A smart but obviously misguided youth, he asked me to be a mentor on his new web based product/services idea that took 2nd place in the business school competition. He’s chomping at the bit for some light speed online retail growth.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 25, 2010

I was fortunate to get an invitation from Ridley Bikes to see its new headquarters in the Flanders region of Belgium last week as well as sample a bit of the local culture.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 23, 2010

The Last Two Installments In The Perfect Competition Series…Plus The Final Scorecard.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 18, 2010

If bike shops want to compete for the bulk of the US market, they need cheaper bikes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 15, 2010

How Product Homogeneity and Constant Returns to Scale effectively limit the Big Brands' growth potential

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 12, 2010

A recent WSJ article headline said “Looking To Grow, JC Penney Tries To Carve New Niches”. It’s Penney’s  new fangled strategy to try and salvage their “stuck in the middle” dying retail model.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 11, 2010

It’s a key retail skill. And I bet you thought it was vitesse or souplesse…
 
It’s politeness. Please. Thank you. I’m sorry that happened. Accept our apology.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2010

Last week we talked about three tactics that 1.0 brands are using to great effect in trying to break the industry cycle of Perfect Competition. This week, three more tactics where they’re not doing nearly as well.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2010

Both are non-negotiables in a Bicycle Retailer’s marketing plan.  Today the market requires both a mastery of bathrooms and the art of super niche social media, among other things.  Properly played both can be brand celebrations of your specialty retail shop.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 5, 2010

Rain stopped but winds picked up as our crew worked its way southeast to Fort Worth.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 5, 2010

On the final day of the tour we rode on scenic multi-use trails and paths as we visited shops in central Dallas.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis