Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted November 29, 2010
Today I sat with an anxiously ambitious CU student who interned for a client of mine.  A smart but obviously misguided youth, he asked me to be a mentor on his new web based product/services idea that took 2nd place in the business school competition. He’s chomping at the bit for some light speed online retail growth.  
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 25, 2010
I was fortunate to get an invitation from Ridley Bikes to see its new headquarters in the Flanders region of Belgium last week as well as sample a bit of the local culture.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 23, 2010
The Last Two Installments In The Perfect Competition Series…Plus The Final Scorecard.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 18, 2010
If bike shops want to compete for the bulk of the US market, they need cheaper bikes.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 15, 2010
How Product Homogeneity and Constant Returns to Scale effectively limit the Big Brands' growth potential
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 12, 2010
A recent WSJ article headline said “Looking To Grow, JC Penney Tries To Carve New Niches”. It’s Penney’s  new fangled strategy to try and salvage their “stuck in the middle” dying retail model.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 11, 2010
It’s a key retail skill. And I bet you thought it was vitesse or souplesse…   It’s politeness. Please. Thank you. I’m sorry that happened. Accept our apology.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2010
Last week we talked about three tactics that 1.0 brands are using to great effect in trying to break the industry cycle of Perfect Competition. This week, three more tactics where they’re not doing nearly as well.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2010
Both are non-negotiables in a Bicycle Retailer’s marketing plan.  Today the market requires both a mastery of bathrooms and the art of super niche social media, among other things.  Properly played both can be brand celebrations of your specialty retail shop.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 5, 2010
Rain stopped but winds picked up as our crew worked its way southeast to Fort Worth.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 5, 2010
On the final day of the tour we rode on scenic multi-use trails and paths as we visited shops in central Dallas.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 2, 2010
Though the forecast called for some showers, unrelenting rain drenched riders on the first day of the Dallas/Fort Worth Dealer Tour.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 2, 2010
Eight Tactics 1.0 Brands Are Using Right Now to Break Through the Perfect Competition Barrier.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 28, 2010
In my last Brain Blog post ago I poo-poo’ed the coming electric bicycle groundswell and rallied for electric scooters and folding bikes. As promised, here’s a part two hallucination wrapped around my big wish for folding bicycles in urban markets.  
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 27, 2010
It’s an ego-driven epidemic in bike shops. It scares away customers. It’s the Authority Battle. 
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 25, 2010
Industry Experts (including you) weight in on the “Perfect Competition” Model Of The Bike Biz
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 20, 2010
Five days on a bike in the Bay Area last week showed me how much progress we’ve made in creating a bike-friendly America.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 18, 2010
Why Business Schools say Bike 1.0 will never win (hint: it’s because we’re too Perfect.)
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 15, 2010
Plan A...Embrace change and make some lemonade.....
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 14, 2010
It’s not about Anaheim, folks. And at the end of the day, it’s not even about August.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis