Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted August 29, 2010
I was in downtown Chicago yesterday for three business meetings. Plus…where else can you go to a big city that smells like concrete and donuts?
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 23, 2010
This is an unusual post, inasmuch as I’m only writing it because so many editors (you know who you are) have asked me to.  
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 16, 2010
Last week we took on Size, Retailer-Friendliness, Anti-Advocacy, Anti-Preseason, and A Business Model as five things Bike 2.0 isn’t.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 9, 2010
After more than a year of blogs about Bike 2.0 and what it might look like in various contexts,  perhaps it’s time to look at what it ain’t.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 2, 2010
The preseason Dating Game is an outdated answer to a question that hasn’t been relevant in 15 years. So what’s the Right Question? Glad you asked.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 26, 2010
Why do so many suppliers and retailers keep putting their money into The Dating Game year after year? Rick has some alternate ideas.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 23, 2010
It's almost August, which can only mean one thing.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 20, 2010
One CEO of a top-ten bike brand tells me that as a very rough estimate, he thinks financing in all its various elements ends up representing as much as 10% of his wholesale pricing. 10% of the approximately half of all BPSA bikes pre-seasoned last year means cyclists (consumers) ended up paying almost $125 million (at retail) to support wholesale finance costs in 2009.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 13, 2010
The old Bike 1.0 business model as practiced by Trek, Giant, and Specialized relies on a shrinking market where a relatively few “smart” retailers prosper at the expense of a majority of “dumb” ones.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 13, 2010
Behind The BPSA’s Redacted 2008-’09 Numbers: Boondoggle, Hornswoggle, or Clerical Soap-Droppery?
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 3, 2010
The final day of BRAIN's D.C. Dealer Tour took us through a grittier part of the city as we cycled outside the Beltway on our way to Arrow Bicycles in Hyattsville, Maryland, a cool neighborhood Giant shop. On the way we rode on the new Met Branch trail, a recently opened Rails to Trails project in Northeast D.C. that the Washington Area Bicyclist Association has been working on securing funding and easements for since the early 1990s.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 3, 2010
Send us your Bike to Work Week Photos, and I'll post them up on our Web site!!!
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 2, 2010
The second day of BRAIN's D.C. led us from Alexandria through tony Georgetown and into the heart of the district where we rode past many of the D.C. must-sees such as the White House, the Washington Monument and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 2, 2010
BRAIN kicked off its Dealer Tour of Washington D.C. on Tuesday with stops at shops in Alexandria, Crystal City and Arlington. We capped a long day by joining 200 local riders for Conte's Tuesday night shop ride. Here are some pictures from the first day:
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 4, 2010
Shannon Haslam, who used to work for Tifosi Optics and now lives in Nashville, Tennessee informed me that a local charity needs some help after the rain and floods that have recently swept through the area.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 21, 2010
As many of you well know Bill Fields is recovering from viral encephalitis.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 8, 2010
I swung by the grand opening on Saturday of the Bicycle Hub, a new bike cooperative in Long Beach, California.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 7, 2010
Outside Magazine's third annual "Best Places to Work" list has been revealed:
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 30, 2010
Kind Shock general manager Martin Hsu organized a six-day, 510 kilometer ride around Taiwan's picturesque east side following the Taipei Cycle show earlier this month, and extended an invitation to BRAIN to have a rider come along.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 18, 2010
NiteRider will be rolling through the U.S. in style for 2010.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis