Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted June 3, 2010

Send us your Bike to Work Week Photos, and I'll post them up on our Web site!!!

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 2, 2010

The second day of BRAIN's D.C. led us from Alexandria through tony Georgetown and into the heart of the district where we rode past many of the D.C. must-sees such as the White House, the Washington Monument and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 2, 2010

BRAIN kicked off its Dealer Tour of Washington D.C. on Tuesday with stops at shops in Alexandria, Crystal City and Arlington. We capped a long day by joining 200 local riders for Conte's Tuesday night shop ride. Here are some pictures from the first day:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 4, 2010

Shannon Haslam, who used to work for Tifosi Optics and now lives in Nashville, Tennessee informed me that a local charity needs some help after the rain and floods that have recently swept through the area.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 21, 2010

As many of you well know Bill Fields is recovering from viral encephalitis.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 8, 2010

I swung by the grand opening on Saturday of the Bicycle Hub, a new bike cooperative in Long Beach, California.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 7, 2010

Outside Magazine's third annual "Best Places to Work" list has been revealed:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 30, 2010

Kind Shock general manager Martin Hsu organized a six-day, 510 kilometer ride around Taiwan's picturesque east side following the Taipei Cycle show earlier this month, and extended an invitation to BRAIN to have a rider come along.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 18, 2010

NiteRider will be rolling through the U.S. in style for 2010.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 1, 2010

Here are the award winners from this year's handmade bike show that took place in Richmond, Virginia, over the weekend:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged North American Handmade Bicycle Show
Posted February 26, 2010

With its unique mix of bikes and brew, the Angry Catfish Bicycle and Coffee Bar is the latest hub of Minneapolis’ thriving bike culture. Keep reading for a bit on Cars R Coffins, a Minneapolis messenger scene mainstay for the past four years.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 26, 2010

Sunny skies, mild breezes and palm tree-lined streets offered the semblance of a beach side town.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 24, 2010

A shout out to Cactus Bike, Domenic's 2 Wheelers, Tempe Bicycle and Tribe Multisport for rolling out the red carpet.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 23, 2010

The BRAIN Dealer Tour kicked off on Tuesday morning amid sunny skies, but temps were--surprisingly--in the mid 40s.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 15, 2010

My hometown will soon be giving bike towns like Portland, Oregon, and Boulder, Colorado, a little friendly competition.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 5, 2010

Normally, I bang on a keyboard all day helping create content for the retailers who use our Web site service. So it was a treat to attend Park Tool's Tech Summit for a little hands-on and face-time. Held February 1-2 at the spacious Doubletree Hotel in downtown San Jose, California, it brought together technical gurus from Campagnolo, Fox, Hayes, Mavic, Park, RockShox, Shimano and SRAM to teach the latest tech tips and tricks to mechanics, some from as far away as Alaska, Hawaii, Taipei and Argentina.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 4, 2010

Tucked away in an unassuming building in an industrial park off Southern California's I-15 freeway, Intense Cycles is still manufacturing mountain bike frames long after most of its high-end peers have decamped to Asia. Chris Allen, the company's new general manager, said while manufacturing in So Cal is a costly business model, the company has still managed to make a profit every year.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 3, 2010

Had a chance to catch up with Santa Cruz marketing manager Scott Turner to discuss Western Spirit's new consumer event Outerbike.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 7, 2010

Mark Weir's Marin County home—that he shares with his wife, Sue, and son, Gus—burnt down on Christmas weekend, as a fire broke out in the garage and spread throughout their home.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 22, 2009

The moment I arrived in Copenhagen last week, the climate change talks ground to a halt. Delegates from the G-77 (poorer) countries walked out in disgust, just as thousands of official observers, me included, were queuing up outside the conference hall trying to get in. Neither story made the front pages back in the States but the Danish and European press was not happy at all.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis