Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted February 3, 2010

Had a chance to catch up with Santa Cruz marketing manager Scott Turner to discuss Western Spirit's new consumer event Outerbike.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 7, 2010

Mark Weir's Marin County home—that he shares with his wife, Sue, and son, Gus—burnt down on Christmas weekend, as a fire broke out in the garage and spread throughout their home.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 22, 2009

The moment I arrived in Copenhagen last week, the climate change talks ground to a halt. Delegates from the G-77 (poorer) countries walked out in disgust, just as thousands of official observers, me included, were queuing up outside the conference hall trying to get in. Neither story made the front pages back in the States but the Danish and European press was not happy at all.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 14, 2009

Fifty riders braved the inclement weather for Campy's annual toy drive and ride this past Saturday in Carlsbad.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 7, 2009

Anyone have $10k lying around? If you do, and are a collector of all things BMX, check out this auction on eBay.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 7, 2009

First, apologies are in order to Jeff Shupe, SRAM’s chief operating officer, and John Nedeau, SRAM’s director for OEM sales. They had taken a couple of hours out of a hectic schedule last Friday to take me through the company’s factory.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Taichung Bike Week
Posted November 30, 2009

Thanks for all the great stocking stuffers we received from everyone.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 24, 2009

While in Taiwan last week, TAITRA arranged a two-day schedule of factory visits in and around Taichung, as well as Tainan City. We made stops at JD Components, Ideal, Kind Shock, CST/Maxxis, SR Suntour and Rikulau—a new domestic supplier for titanium and steel complete bikes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 20, 2009

Thanks for all the great stocking stuffers we received from everyone.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 20, 2009

Over in Taiwan for a preview of the Taipei Cycle Show as well as to visit a handful of factories in Taichung.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 19, 2009

Thanks for all the great stocking stuffers we received from everyone.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 19, 2009

Thanks for all the great stocking stuffers we received from everyone.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 17, 2009

Thanks for all the great stocking stuffers we received from everyone.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 12, 2009

For Dave Neiswander, director of World Bicycle Relief's Africa operations, WBR's microfinance program speaks to his financial background. A former investment banker in Washington, D.C., who moved to Zambia three years ago, Neiswander said combining the best practices of microfinance with quality bicycles is a way to spread millions of bicycles across Africa.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 12, 2009

I was buzzing around Twitter this morning and saw Gary Newkirk's post about being featured in the OC Register.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 12, 2009

Just wrapped up a whirlwind tour of Bay Area bike companies with BRAIN sales guy Peter Kirkpatrick. We made good use of our two days—started in Marin County, cruised over to the East Bay before heading south to Santa Cruz and Scotts Valley, then made our way back up through San Jose and San Carlos. Along the way, we saw folks from Swobo, Marin Mountain Bikes, WTB, Panaracer, Bianchi, Ibis, Blackburn, Giro, Wordlock, Look and Ritchey.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 10, 2009

There are a lot of reasons why a child wouldn't go to school—no books, bad teachers, sick parents or guardians or the need to work to support their families—but F.K. Day says the one we can affect is transportation.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 4, 2009

Today we traveled by bus to Keembe, a rural community about an hour and 15 minutes away from Lusaka. The area has special meaning for WBR because it's where they tested bikes sold in Zambia before designing their own. F.K. Day said they saw a lot of bike failures there. It's also one of the areas WBR has been in the longest. They've been on the ground there for over two years as part of the RAPIDS program to provide World Vision caregivers with a bicycle.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 3, 2009

World Bicycle Relief president F.K. Day says all answers reside in the field. So I am going into the field to understand the impact of bicycles in rural communities in Africa. I'm in Zambia as part of the World Bicycle Relief Million Dollar Ride, a fundraising trip to raise money for the non-profit group Day started almost five years ago to bring bicycles to impoverished areas to increase mobility and productivity.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 2, 2009

I started out writing about the actual Ride for the Roses—which has now evolved into the Livestrong Challenge. After observing the events of last weekend, I realized that “it’s not about the Ride.” The weekend is a “gathering of the tribe,” or in Lance’s words, “the army.” This is Lance’s “Obligation of the Cure.”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis