You are here

Performance Sponsoring Women's Team

Published April 13, 2010

CHAPEL HILL, NC (BRAIN)—Performance Bicycle, and the SpokesWomen Syndicate, an organization dedicated to getting more women into the sport of cycling, have announced that the Performance Bicycle Racing team is set to make its
debut for the 2010 season.

Performance Bicycle Racing is an elite women's cycling team composed of women who have reached USA cycling category 1 or 2 status, the same category as professional women in USA cycling.

"Performance can't wait to be part of the professional circuit," said Jim Thompson, chief executive officer of Performance, Inc. "The Performance Bicycle Racing team has put in an intense winter of training and is coming out of camp strong. This is an accomplished team of women with whom we share a common goal‹getting more women to discover the enjoyment of cycling."

The 2010 Performance Bicycle Racing team is made up of cyclists Cara Applegate, Evie Boswell-Vilt, Kirsten Davis, Kathryn Okenatez-Mahoney, Chris Tommerdahl, Dana Treiber Martin, Nicole Vincent-Jordan, Gina Voci and Bergen
Watterson. The team is supported by professional mentors and development team leaders Annie Lux, Ainhoa Perez-Diez and Hadley Trotter. Primarily focused on road bike racing, the team also includes top and professional level mountain bike, triathlete and cyclocross riders as well.

"The biggest asset of the Performance Bicycle sponsorship is the support and enthusiasm they provide for women who love to race bicycles," said Laura Seay, co-founder and president of the SpokesWomen Syndicate. "The best female cyclists have full time jobs and families to support. Having
Performance as our title sponsor enables our elite members to focus more on their training, their professional lives and their families, while giving them a national support system to encourage and promote their dedication to
the sport."

Join the Conversation