You are here

Endurance Show to Draw World-Class Athletes

Published January 2, 2011

SAN DIEGO, CA (BRAIN)—A star-studded list of honorees and attendees will attend endurance LIVE, a consumer show and endurance sports awards event, on Saturday, Jan. 22. Appearances will include current and former Ironman World Champions, Olympians, a prolific Tour de France cyclist, inspirational athletes and reality stars.

Formerly known as the TriExpo and Endurance Sports Awards, endurance LIVE will showcase some of the biggest names within the endurance sports industry including: Shalane Flanagan, 2008 Olympic bronze medalist in the 10,000-meter; Chris Solinsky, first non-African to finish 10,000-meters in under 27 minutes; Mirinda Carfrae, 2010 Ironman World Champion; Chris McCormack, 2007 and 2010 Ironman World Champion; Chrissie Wellington, three-time Ironman World Champion; Scout Bassett, inspirational athlete; Ryan Sutter, winner of ABC’s Bachelorette (2003) and philanthropist; Mark Cavendish, celebrated Tour de France cyclist; and Rebecca Rusch, three-time 24-hour Solo Mountain Bike World Champion.

“With such a prolific list of accomplished honorees and attendees, we have positioned endurance LIVE as the world’s most extensive and premier consumer show and awards gala dedicated to the world of endurance sports,” said Bouker Pool, senior vice president of marketing for Competitor Group. “By providing endurance sports enthusiasts the opportunity to meet and interact with the leaders in these respective sports and fields, we have created a unique and unparalleled experience that is simply unrivaled within the industry.”

Endurance LIVE will unite cycling, running and triathlon enthusiasts through a daytime consumer show consisting of demos of the latest products in the market, training clinics ran by industry professionals and interactive workouts hosted by experts. The event will culminate with an evening awards gala honoring 2010’s male and female Triathlete of the Year, Competitor Runner of the Year and VeloNews Cyclist of the Year.

The consumer show, which is free and open to the public, will take place from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the San Diego Convention Center. The event is followed by the awards gala at the Hard Rock Hotel in downtown San Diego, with advance tickets available for purchase at

Topics associated with this article: Events

Join the Conversation