You are here

Colorado Law Gives Bikers More Room

Published August 5, 2009

DENVER, CO (BRAIN)—A new bicycle safety law went into effect yesterday, where drivers have to gives cyclists at least 3 feet of space when passing or risk a $110 ticket, according to the TV news station KMGH Denver.

"Even wind from a passing vehicle can cause bicyclists to change their course a bit," said Dan Grunig, executive director of Bicycle Colorado, to the news station. "So providing that safe distance helps insure that if there's a rock or a pothole in the bikers' way, that they're not in the way of a car too."

For more on this story, click on link.

Join the Conversation