You are here

NICA Holding First Awards Banquet

Published December 15, 2010

BERKELEY, CA (BRAIN)—The National Interscholastic Cycling Association is planning an annual awards banquet to honor individuals that have made outstanding contributions and achievements in the development of high school cycling.

The inaugural event is set for January 8, 2011, at Clif Bar & Company's brand new energy-efficient headquarters in Emeryville, California, according to a press release.

NICA founder and executive director, Matt Fritzinger, said, "I am regularly inspired by the tremendous commitment of student-athletes, dedicated coaches, super staff members, and passionate volunteers that form a close-knit and dynamic community supporting the evolution of high school cycling. With the NICA Awards Banquet we now have a means of formally recognizing some of the greatness in the organization."

The banquet evening will feature special guest Hans "No Way" Rey, a world famous adventure rider who will share the story of his remarkable career traveling to exotic destinations around the world, promoting the sport of cycling, and entertaining millions along the way. Rey's presentation includes his start as an amateur trials rider in Austria, the launch of his professional career in the United States, his multiple world championships, and adventure travels that have taken him to more than 60 countries. His stories of living with Mr. Jinx–a bicycle riding chimpanzee, appearing on the television show Pacific Blue, and launching his international charity Wheels 4 Life, invoke the passion, innovation and commitment that he has exuded over the years, inspiring so many to get out and ride bicycles.

Event hosts, Clif Bar & Company are opening their doors and their kitchen for this special event. Executive chef Scott Erickson and his expert staff at Kali's Kitchen will create a custom menu highlighting the seasonal offerings supplied by their network of organic farmers. The meal will be complemented with wine from the Clif Family Winery & Farm.

Seventeen individuals in 11 categories will be honored.

Tickets and more information are available by clicking on top link.

Topics associated with this article: Awards

Join the Conversation