You are here

Adventure Cycling Seeks Travel Award Nominees

Published July 7, 2011

MISSOULA, MT (BRAIN)—Nominations are now open for Adventure Cycling Association's 7th annual Bicycle Travel Awards.

Celebrating the heroes of bicycle travel in the U.S., Adventure Cycling's awards include the Pacesetter Bicycle Travel Award, June Curry Trail Angel Award, Sam Braxton Bike Shop Award, and the Adventure Cycling Volunteer of the Year Award.

"Adventure Cycling's national awards program is our way of saying thank you for the generous contributions made by individuals and organizations to improve conditions for bike travel and touring cyclists in the U.S.," said membership and marketing coordinator Amy Corbin.

The Pacesetter Bicycle Travel Award recognizes the efforts of those that have supported or promoted bicycle travel in the U.S. in an exemplary way. This award is named after Charlie Pace (Columbus, OH), who has spent decades creating and supporting bicycle-travel opportunities.

The June Curry Trail Angel Award thanks a generous individual or group that has made a traveling cyclist's journey easier, or possible, and is named after June Curry (Afton, VA), the famous "Cookie Lady" of the TransAmerica Bicycle Trail. Over the course of three decades June has brightened the journey of over 11,000 touring cyclists by providing them with refreshments along the way.

The Sam Braxton Bike Shop Award honors a bike shop that has promoted bike travel in an outstanding fashion, and built enthusiasm about bike touring in their community. Braxton Bike Shop (Missoula, MT), the inaugural winner of this award, was integral to the success of Bikecentennial ‘76, the event that kick-started Adventure Cycling Association.

The Adventure Cycling Volunteer of the Year Award is presented to an extraordinary volunteer who has assisted the organization in furthering its goal of inspiring people of all ages to travel by bicycle.

Nominations for the 2011 awards will be accepted through September 30, 2011. For further details, visit (click on link), email, or contact Amy Corbin at 800-755-2453, ext. 215.

Topics associated with this article: Awards

Join the Conversation