Follow Bicycle Retailer

You are here

Outdoor Retailer shows extend date shift

Published November 7, 2012

SALT LAKE CITY, UT (BRAIN) — Organizers of the Outdoor Retailer Winter Market and Summer Market say they will extend a one-day date shift for the events through 2014.

The organizers had previously announced that its winter show would be shifted by a day, to run Wednesday through Saturday, January 23-26, preceded by an on-snow demo day on Tuesday January 22. That's a day earlier than the show's traditional dates.

Now show organizers say the 2013 summer show and 2014 winter and summer shows will be held on the same schedule.

Hotel contracts for Summer Market 2013 through 2014 are being reworked, and as a result, reservation details for show housing are not yet available.

"The change in day pattern for the show is in response to feedback and data showing a growing preference for midweek travel and tradeshow business," said Kenji Haroutunian, Nielsen Expo Outdoor Group vice president and OR show director. "Date changes have many moving parts, and we're using this opportunity to better serve our core specialty retail audience, in addition to ensuring crucial exhibitor personnel needs are met in the tight downtown Salt Lake area."

Outdoor Retailer also said it is improving its bus shuttle services for the show. Efforts will include a first-ever "travel guide" for show attendees.

Dates for the outdoor industry tradeshow and demo events are as follows:

Outdoor Retailer Winter Market 2013
All Mountain Demo: Tuesday, January 22
Winter Market Expo: Wednesday, January 23 - Saturday, January 26

Outdoor Retailer Summer Market 2013
Open Air Demo: Tuesday, July 30
Summer Market Expo: Wednesday, July 31 - Saturday, August 3

Outdoor Retailer Winter Market 2014
All Mountain Demo: Tuesday, January 21
Winter Market Expo: Wednesday, January 22 - Saturday, January 25

Outdoor Retailer Summer Market 2014
Open Air Demo: Tuesday, August 5
Summer Market Expo: Wednesday August 6 - Saturday, August 9

Topics associated with this article: Tradeshows and conferences

Join the Conversation