Mountain Bike Hall of Fame inducts new class

Published August 2, 2012

CRESTED BUTTE, CO (BRAIN) Thursday August 2 2012 2:20 PM MT—The Mountain Bike Hall of Fame has announced the Inductee Class of 2012.

Elected by a vote of past inductees and current members, the new inductees bring the number of Hall of Fame inductees to 121 individuals and eight groups. Founded in 1988 in Crested Butte, Colorado, the Hall of Fame selects three to seven mountain bike legends to join its ranks each year.

The stories of these inductees, along with the history of mountain biking and early fat-tire bikes, are presented at the Mountain Bike Hall of Fame Museum in downtown Crested Butte.

The 2012 Inductees are:

Dave House, Journalism. House has been involved in mountain biking journalism for more than 30 years and is the current publisher of Road and Decline Magazine.

Ruthie Matthes, Racing History. Matthes is an MTB racer and a former world champion, World Cup champion and Olympian.

Gary Sjolquist, Advocacy. Sjolquist is a Minnesota advocate who has devoted 20 years to getting people on bikes and increasing government support for bicycling.

Monte Ward, Pioneers. Ward, from Southern California, began off-road exploration in the 1970’s and rode with many of the original Marin gang in the early 1980’s.

Bob Woodward, Journalism. Woodward is a dedicated writer, photographer, trail builder, advocate, competitor and promoter of mountain biking.

The Hall of Fame will officially welcome the new class Wednesday, September 19 at the Interbike Expo in Las Vegas. The ceremony will be at 6 pm and all Interbike attendees and the general public are welcome.

For more information, visit

Topics associated with this article: Awards

Join the Conversation