You are here

Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame to be launched at Unbound Gravel

Published January 11, 2022

EMPORIA, Kan. (BRAIN) — Shimano North America is the founding sponsor of the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame, which will be launched here in June prior to the Unbound Gravel 2022 event.

Organizers of the new Hall are accepting nominations for the first inductees from Jan. 11 until March 1. Nominees will be announced April 4 and the induction gala will be June 4 in Emporia.

"It is the community of riders that make gravel cycling so special, so we're excited to present an opportunity for that community to lift up and celebrate the people who have led the way," said Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame advisory board member LeLan Dains.

Nominations are open to the public and anyone will be able to submit a nomination with the permission of the nominee. The group has established six categories for the types of riders and community members who should be considered for nomination: Promoters, Athletes, Innovators, Volunteers, Routeurs, and Storytellers.

An election committee of more than 30 industry and media representatives, event organizers, and gravel enthusiasts will make the final selections on inductees. 

The Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame received a founding sponsorship from Shimano North America and is seeking additional industry sponsors and personal donors. Donations are used to help honor the 2022 class of inductees and establish a physical museum space in Emporia.

Individuals are welcome to donate online and donations of receive two tickets to the induction banquet. The public will have an opportunity to join a group ride with the 2022 inductees on Friday, June 3.

The founding committee and advisory board of the Gravel Cycling Hall of Fame includes LeLan Dains, Tobie DePauw, Kristen Legan, Neil Shirley and Steve Driscoll.

More information at

Join the Conversation