You are here

BRAINy Awards Honor Individuals

Published April 14, 2010

MONTEREY, CA (BRAIN)—Bicycle Retailer and Industry News handed out its BRAINy awards with an emphasis on individual achievement and industry service at the Bicycle Leadership Conference yesterday. The BLC has been the home of the BRAINys for the past six years, with this being its second year at the Sea Otter Classic.

Angela Owen accepted the Company Advocacy award on behalf of REI for its generous support of grassroots advocacy efforts through its local grants program. Blair Clark of Smith Optics received the Individual Advocacy award for his service on multiple organizations including the Bikes Belong Foundation, IMBA board and OIA board, and steadfast commitment to making bicycling safer.

The annual awards presentation, now in its 10th year, also included two new categories for Upcoming Executive of the Year and Executive of the Year. Chris Speyer, vice president of product development and marketing for Raleigh America, was recognized as an up and comer for his work to reinvigorate Raleigh’s product line as well as his service to the industry on the BPSA’s statistics committee. Pat Cunnane, president of Advanced Sports Inc., received the award for Executive of the Year for his efforts to grow ASI into a family of brands including Fuji, Kestrel, Breezer and Oval Concepts.

“He’s done a remarkable job growing that company and getting it firmly established in North America, Europe and Asia. All this at a time where we experienced the largest economic downturn in some time. Yet, here they are thriving,” said BPSA president John Nedeau, who presented Cunnane’s award.

Nedeau also presented the Distinguished Service award to Matt Moore of Quality Bicycle Products for his selfless efforts to manage through the CPSIA implications and other concerning legislation impacting bicycles.

The evening concluded with the Lifetime Achievement award presented to Nick Andrade, who recently retired from Pacific Cycle after a remarkable 53 years in the bike industry.

PHOTO: Awards emcee and BRAIN editor Megan Tompkins, Executive of the Year Pat Cunnane and BPSA president John Nedeau.

Topics associated with this article: Events

Join the Conversation