You are here

Interbike releases first wave of nominees for Gala awards

Published July 16, 2014

SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, Calif. (BRAIN) — Interbike has released the nominees for the first round of categories for the 2014 Interbike Awards, to be presented at the Interbike Gala during the trade show in September.

The first nominees released are in the product, supplier and triathlon categories. Other nominees will be announced early next month. The Gala will be held Sept. 11 from 6:30-9 p.m. at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas.

The product categories will be presented by Hi-Torque Publications for Mountain Bike of the Year, Road Bike of the Year, E-Bike of the Year and several more. Products nominated were chosen by the editorial teams at Hi Torque. Hi Torque staff also nominated the BMX Athlete of the Year candidates.

Hi Torque's nominees announced Wednesday are:

Mountain Bike of the Year: 

  • Giant Trance Advanced 27.5
  • Intense Tracer T-275 Carbon 
  • Pivot Mach 6 
  • Specialized S-Works Enduro 29 
  • KHS SixFifty 7500 

Mountain Product Innovation of the Year:

  • OneUp Components Sprockets 
  • RockShox Pike fork 
  • Renthal Duo Stem and Fatbar Light Handlebar 
  • Smith Forefront Helmet 
  • Troy Lee Designs A1 Helmet 

Road/'Cross Bike of the Year:

  • Bianchi Infinito 
  • Cannondale Synapse 
  • Niner RLT 
  • Specialized Allez Expert 
  • Trek Domane 

Road Product Innovation of the Year: 

  • GoPro Hero camera 
  • ICE Dot Crash Sensor 
  • Shimano Ultegra 6870
  • Stages Power 
  • Shimano R785 Disc Brake 

BMX Product Innovation of the Year:

  • Bell Full 7 helmet 
  • Box Maximus bars and Delta stem 
  • TSG Dawn helmet 
  • Kink Senec pedals 

BMX Athlete of the Year:

  • Sam Willoughby 
  • Caroline Buchanan 
  • Drew Bezanson 
  • Mike “Hucker” Clark 

E-Bike of the Year:

  • Haibike Xduro RX 
  • Electra Townie Go 
  • Stromer ST1 
  • Specialized Turbo 
  • Prodecotech Phantom X3

On the supplier side, the National Bicycle Dealers Association made the following nominations:

Highest Brand Profitability to the LBS, Unit Turns:

  • Club Ride 
  • Planet Bike 
  • Q-Tubes 
  • ABUS 
  • Tifosi Optics 

Highest Brand Profitability to the LBS, Dollars:

  • Club Ride 
  • Lazer
  • Tifosi Optics 
  • Swagman 
  • Giant 

Best Service to the LBS:

  • Cane Creek 
  • Lazer 
  • Waterford Precision Cycles 
  • Q-Tubes 
  • ABUS 

Best Brand Value to Consumers:

  • Assos 
  • Skratch Labs 
  • Stan’s NoTubes 
  • Velocity USA 
  • Waterford Precision Cycles 

Best Brand Value to the LBS:

  • Assos 
  • Linus Bikes 
  • Terratrike 
  • GoPro 
  • Skratch Labs 

Best Distributor Service to the LBS:

  • Hans Johnsen 
  • Highway Two 
  • Quality Bicycle Products 
  • Giant 
  • Seattle Bicycle Supply 

NBDA’s Signature Award (This award is for "a company that best manages its brand positioning and avoids being commoditized by mass-market sales channels"):

  • ABUS 
  • Giant 
  • Velocity USA 
  • Catrike 
  • Waterford Precision Cycles

The final nominees announced Wednesday were made by Triathlon Business International:

International Male Triathlete of the Year: 

  • Javier Gomez
  • Frederik Van Lierede
  • Andrew Starykowicz

International Female Triathlete of the Year:

  • Miranda Carfrae
  • Gwen Jorgensen
  • Meredith Kessler

Triathlon Industry Leader of the Year: 

  • HOKA
  • Dan Empfield
  • Bob Babbit 
Topics associated with this article: People, Awards

Join the Conversation