You are here

University Bikes takes home Retailer of the Year prize from the first Interbike Awards

Published September 12, 2014
Planet Bike, Club Ride, Assos, Lazer and Stan's among the award-winning retail suppliers.

LAS VEGAS (BRAIN) — Comedian Alonzo Bodden hosted the first annual Interbike Awards ceremony, held Thursday night at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center here. Bodden was assisted by various industry celebrities in presenting the awards in 36 categories. A full list of the category descriptions and the nominees is on the Interbike website.


Boulder, Colorado's University Bikes took home the top prize in the retail category, being named the 2014 Retailer of the Year. Other shops were honored in categories for road bike, mountain bike, urban, and female friendly.

Here are the award winners:

E-Bike of the Year: Haibike Xduro FS RX

Highest Brand Profitability to the LBS, Unit Turns: Planet Bike

Highest Brand Profitability to the LBS, Dollars: Club Ride

Best Service to the LBS: Lazer

Best Brand Value to Consumers: Stan's NoTubes

Best Brand Value to the LBS: Assos

Best Distributor Service to the LBS: Highway Two

NBDA's Signature Award - The "Specialty" Award: Velocity USA

Best Urban/Lifestyle Shop: Transit Cycles – Tucson, AZ

Best Pro Road Shop: Faster – Scottsdale, AZ

Best Mountain Bike Shop: Over the Edge Sports – Fruita, CO

Best Women's/Female-Friendly Shop: Glady's Bikes – Portland, OR

2014 Retailer of the Year: University Bicycles – Boulder, CO

North American Road Cyclist of the Year (Male/Female): Tejay van Garderen

North American MTB Cyclist of the Year (Male/Female): Todd Wells

International Cyclocross Rider of the Year (Male/Female): Sven Nys

International Cyclist of the Year Male: Julien Absalon

International Cyclist of the Year Female: Marianne Vos

North American Revelation Rider of the Year: Elle Anderson

International Ride of the Year: Andrew Talansky – Stage 8, Critérium du Dauphiné

Mountain Bike of the Year: Intense Tracer T-275 Carbon

Mountain Product Innovation of the Year: RockShox Pike fork

People's Upgrade Choice Award Mountain: Pivot Mach 6 Carbon

Best in Show Mountain: Shimano XTR Di2

Road/Cross Bike of the Year: Trek Domane

Road Product Innovation of the Year: Shimano R785 Disc Brake

People's Upgrade Choice Award Road: Shimano Ultegra Di2

Best in Show Road/Cross: Silca SuperPista Ultimate Floor Pump

BMX Product Innovation of the Year: Box Maximus bars and Delta stem

BMX Athlete of the Year: Caroline Buchanan

International Male Triathlete of the Year: Javier Gomez

International Female Triathlete of the Year: Mirinda Carfrae

Triathlon Industry Leader of the Year: Dan Empfield

Next Generation Award: Strider Bikes - Rapid City, SD

PlacesForBikes: Indianapolis Cultural Trail, Indianapolis, IN

Leadership Award: Mayor Michael Nutter – Philadelphia, PA



University Bikes of Boulder, Colorado, receives the Retailer of the Year award from presenters Ray Keener and Dan Mann.
Topics associated with this article: Interbike Awards

Join the Conversation