Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted April 9, 2009

Just when you thought it was safe to go back on the sidewalk, Segway and GM team up for a two-wheeled version of that silly-ass scooter, dubbed PUMA, short for “Personal Urban Mobility and Accessibility.” Huh. I thought that was why God gave us feet. You can even strap a pair of Pumas onto ‘em, if you’re so inclined. And they won’t cost you one-sixth of what a car costs today, which is as close as Segway chief Jim Norrod would come to discussing a price point with the Detroit Free Press.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 8, 2009

Behold, BRAIN publisher Marc Sani on an Electra Townie.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 6, 2009

One thing I haven’t mentioned but I find particularly interesting is that not only is Minnesota home to many bike companies and some of our industry’s top retailers, but it’s the headquarter state of many Fortune 500 companies.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 5, 2009

Tell us who your favorite bike consumer pub journalist is and why.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 2, 2009

Fox Racing Shox showed off its 2010 product during a media demo day on Thursday at Zaca Station, a motocross track located on an 8,500-acre private ranch outside Buellton, California.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 2, 2009

So by now I'm sure everyone's read about Dorel's plan to consolidate its offices and move Cannondale's U.S. manufacturing overseas.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 24, 2009

Yesterday was the day that Lance and Twitter had the chance to make history.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 22, 2009

I just finished a fantastic week in the middle of the Pacific Ocean with the current UCI #1 ranked
Trials rider in the world, Kenny Belaey from Belgium.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 19, 2009

Sheila Moon and her trusty sidekick Luna popped into the BRAIN offices earlier this week as they made their way from L.A. to San Diego on business.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 18, 2009

DZ (WTB's Dain Zaffke) sent me these awesome pics by the great Alan Davis from this past weekend's Keyesville Classic.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 15, 2009

Having reported on the launch of SmartBikeDC, the city’s new bike-share program, I couldn’t fly home from the Summit without checking out the bikes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 13, 2009

After a full day of lobbying on the Hill yesterday, summiteers logged a total of 350-360 meetings with their state reps and senators, according to the League’s Andy Clarke.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 12, 2009

As I sit down for a brief break from what has been a packed day and a half of meetings, seminars and keynotes at the National Bike Summit, I’m still amazed at how much happens here over a very little span of time. This is my third year out here and it’s great to see the enthusiasm for bike projects and advocacy work hasn’t waned a bit.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 12, 2009

Lazer may not be a familiar helmet brand in the U.S. market, where Bell and Giro dominate, but it is the Bell or Giro of Europe, said Sean van Waes, manager of the bicycle division for Lazer Helmets, while visiting the BRAIN offices in late February.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 10, 2009

Just back from a lunch road ride, and on the way I back I decided to stop by and see Marcel Calborn, who owns BiciSport in Laguna Hills.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 10, 2009

I’ve been telemarketing for the last six weeks. Unlike most telemarketers, I love this job. Selling my stuff to bike retailers means catching up with old friends, swapping cycling, parenting and golfing stories, and… selling my stuff. It’s been an especially interesting year to talk to retailers, with the economic turmoil swirling about. Every conversation begins and ends with, “How are you doing? What are you hearing?”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 5, 2009

Last year Chris King was just kicking around the idea of doing frames again.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 4, 2009

His business name: The Kinky Llama. His specialty: delivering sex toys faster than you can get a Domino's pizza. His mode of transportation: the bicycle.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 3, 2009

Chances are if you've worked in the bicycle industry long enough you know who Dave House is.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 2, 2009

As promised in my entry last week about One on One, I’m finally getting around to sharing some photos and thoughts from recent visits BRAIN sales guy Barry and I made to several bike companies in and around Minneapolis. Press deadlines and a short-lived cold (thankfully), kept me from tackling this blog entry sooner. But here goes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis