You are here

Connecticut is 10th state to get model e-bike law

Published June 20, 2018

BOULDER, Colo. (BRAIN) — Connecticut Gov. Dannel Malloy has signed a three-class e-bike law, similar to the industry-supported legislation enacted in nine other states.

The Connecticut law varies slightly from the other states because it prevents local municipalities from allowing Class 3 e-bikes on bike paths, and helmets are required for all e-bike users.

"These were the concessions we had to allow to pass the three-class bill," said Morgan Lommele, PeopleForBikes' e-bike campaign manager. She said PeopleForBikes and others will work to amend the language in the next legislative session. She said state Rep. Roland Lemar of New Haven was a champion of the legislation.

The other states with three-class e-bike laws are Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Illinois, Michigan, Tennessee, Utah, and Washington.

"Our Ohio e-bike bill is pending in the Senate but we are hopeful it will pass soon," Lommele said.

More information: The Connecticut law


Topics associated with this article: Electric bike

Join the Conversation