Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted January 3, 2014
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements.

Bicycles are emerging as a new target for conservatives in the ongoing "culture wars" in America.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 20, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

A defensive response is not going to win us any battles.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 17, 2013

There has been quite a bit of ink used recently discussing trademarks and their enforcement and the folks at BRAIN wanted me to write about the topic generally. I want to make it clear that nothing written in this column is meant to comment upon or pass judgment upon recent issues in the news.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 6, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

If we agree with Amazon's Jeff Bezos that complaining is not a strategy, what are some strategies that will lead to success for bike shops with physical locations?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 22, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

A small but resolute group of bicycle industry leaders stormed Capitol Hill Wednesday to make the case for the bicycle business as a creator of jobs and commerce that benefits the U.S. economy.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 8, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

It is outrageous that the federal government continues to give the middle finger to brick-and-mortar businesses across the country by failing to fix a broken sales tax system.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 28, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

Many believe that buying from local independent businesses is a good thing, but is there credible research to back that up?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 18, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

A British market study shows that retail staff members are the key to making customers feel comfortable while shopping, and also cause them to buy and spend more.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 8, 2013
A blog by retailer James Moore, the new president of the NBDA
Moores Bicycle Shop

When driven by passion and executed with excellence, the local independent bike shop is the greatest retail institution in America today

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 7, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

Sometimes the Internet seems like a vast global Complaint Department and bike shops receive plenty of bashing for real or perceived failings.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 2, 2013

I am troubled by three recent negative experiences with IBDs. One each of the warranty, special-order and rental varieties.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 27, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

I needed help and the solution was one I regularly apply to cycling: when in doubt, buy a new piece of equipment. In this case, a fountain pen.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 23, 2013

There were many questions awaiting the industry as we all arrived at Interbike last week. Would the new hall and hotels be an improvement? Would Consumer Day resemble a plague of locusts? Would any of this matter if we get an early Spring in 2014?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted September 13, 2013

Discount internet retailing is a big challenge for brick-and-mortar retailers and the brands they carry.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 5, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

New research from Nielsen Corp. shows that half of consumers are now willing to spend more on products and services from companies that give back to society.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 26, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

Aside from “I’ll know it when I see it,” is there a way to fairly judge a store’s performance?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2013
Daughter Kate, knuckles on bars, looking forward to her 125-degree stem

I take my gal pals bike shopping. They like it better than I do.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 13, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

What if it’s more than the weather? What if the very nature of the bike shop customer is changing?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 31, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

Amazon recently announced it will add 5,000 jobs at regional shipping and customer service centers across the country. President Obama scheduled a visit an Amazon warehouse Tuesday and praised the company as a job creator for America. This is wrong on so many levels.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 29, 2013

Lawyer Steven W. Hansen guides us through a mass of electric bike regulations.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Electric bike

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis