Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted January 9, 2012

Why are all bike taillights cheap pieces of crap?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 4, 2012

Mr. McQuaid, are you listening?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 4, 2012

The owner of neuvationcycling.com weighs in on the brick-and-mortar vs. online debate

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 29, 2011

Maybe getting rid of bar codes will curtail price checking apps?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 21, 2011

Even Vegas-haters had to admit: This was the best Interbike show in recent memory.

And what a difference six months makes! This spring, the questions were flying:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 19, 2011

I confess: I’m conciliatory toward car drivers. And hard as hell on my fellow cyclists.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 26, 2011

That’s right I didn’t see anything in the product area that blew me away. And, of course, I’m sure I’ll get comments from some manufacturer that says they had the new "XYZ" wheel, bars, stem, frame material or saddle profile. Sorry I missed your freaking innovation.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 31, 2011

Bike racing: Meh. I used to be a tifosi. Stopped paying attention about the time Roy Knickman retired. Dave Towle would un-Friend me on Facebook if he only knew how little I cared.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 1, 2011

Ray Keener: OK, I’ve gotten in trouble before writing about the Gender Gap in cycling, so I’ve brought in a partner, Diane Lees from The Outspoken Cyclist in Cleveland, Ohio, to share the heat. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 1, 2011

Streets are narrow in Amsterdam. Minds are not.  An atmosphere of tolerance prevails. That most basic freedom, personal mobility, is joyfully expressed in the ceaseless stream of cyclists gliding about the city.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 27, 2011

As a former Category One racer and advertising salesman, my friend John Kodin is no stranger to pain, so his response to an invitation to participate in the annual Seattle to Portland ride long ago was telling. “If I want to be miserable,” he said, “all I have to do is put a piece of sandpaper in my shorts, have my wife squirt me with the hose, and ride around the block a few times.”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 15, 2011

This post by Brett Lindstrom, national/international sales manager of Speedplay, was in response to this recent story.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 27, 2011

Well, I guess it’s time to face the sobering reality… it’s Megan Tompkins’ last week at BRaIN.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 9, 2011

Lance’s impact on the bike industry is as controversial as his alleged drug use. With all the recent chatter and analysis, let’s correct some of the revisionist history being spun.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 9, 2011

For once Ray I'll disagree with something you've written. There are a number of reasons your argument that racing doesn't sell bikes doesn't hold water:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 31, 2011

Sometimes, in a weak moment,  I imagine getting back into the trade show business. Then I  remember the deaf sound man and come to my senses. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 24, 2011

Boulder launched its B-Cycle bike share program last Friday. I was lucky to be one of the 100 folks riding the bikes from downtown to their dozen destination racks around town.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 20, 2011

Leaning hard into a decreasing radius turn on my ancient Schwinn Paramount, I ponder the effectiveness of thirty year-old sew-up glue.  A failed tire can kill you. Changing one can, too. Bitter experience has taught me to regard  every decision about tires, however insignificant, as a matter of life or death.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 11, 2011

I slept with Yoshi Shimano. Airline computers, those prankster accomplices of fate, had assigned us adjoining seats in the sold-out business class of an Alitalia red-eye going from L.A. to Milan. It was more togetherness than either one of us would have preferred, but we made the best of it.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 26, 2011

Sitting in the doughnut shop enjoying a chocolate old-fashioned and a black coffee, I was reading the paper and glancing up occasionally at my Cook Brothers Cruiser leaned against the wall outside.  Unencumbered by a lock, it was only ten feet away from me, although a window and a wall were between us. As it happened, I wasn’t its only admirer. A tough looking young guy approached from the sidewalk, keeping a purposeful eye on the bike as he stopped and rolled up the right cuff on his jeans. He was a stride away from the bike when he made eye contact with me through the window. In that instant of recognition, I’m sure he was asking himself, “Can that old dude get out of the chair and through the door, before I can get a leg over the bike and put a couple of turns of the pedals between us?”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis