Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted March 13, 2012
Let's put $15 million per year back into retailer's pockets, and $7.5 million into advocacy's
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 13, 2012
It took a diagnosis of metastatic cancer to turn me into an optimist.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 8, 2012
The most encouraging industry trend in the past two decades has nothing to do with products. It’s the increase in industry advocacy awareness and the closely related rise of Bikes Belong.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 27, 2012

Dear Readers, There’s been some confusion among our readers about recent changes to our website, so I wanted to let you know what we’re doing and what we’re planning.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 24, 2012
With tongue firmly in cheek, a wheelbuilder makes the case for ceramic bearings.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 9, 2012
Why are all bike taillights cheap pieces of crap?
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 4, 2012
Mr. McQuaid, are you listening?
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 4, 2012
The owner of neuvationcycling.com weighs in on the brick-and-mortar vs. online debate
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 29, 2011
Maybe getting rid of bar codes will curtail price checking apps?
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 21, 2011
Even Vegas-haters had to admit: This was the best Interbike show in recent memory. And what a difference six months makes! This spring, the questions were flying:
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 19, 2011
I confess: I’m conciliatory toward car drivers. And hard as hell on my fellow cyclists.  
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 26, 2011
That’s right I didn’t see anything in the product area that blew me away. And, of course, I’m sure I’ll get comments from some manufacturer that says they had the new "XYZ" wheel, bars, stem, frame material or saddle profile. Sorry I missed your freaking innovation.  
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 31, 2011
Bike racing: Meh. I used to be a tifosi. Stopped paying attention about the time Roy Knickman retired. Dave Towle would un-Friend me on Facebook if he only knew how little I cared.  
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 1, 2011
Ray Keener: OK, I’ve gotten in trouble before writing about the Gender Gap in cycling, so I’ve brought in a partner, Diane Lees from The Outspoken Cyclist in Cleveland, Ohio, to share the heat. 
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 1, 2011
Streets are narrow in Amsterdam. Minds are not.  An atmosphere of tolerance prevails. That most basic freedom, personal mobility, is joyfully expressed in the ceaseless stream of cyclists gliding about the city.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 27, 2011
As a former Category One racer and advertising salesman, my friend John Kodin is no stranger to pain, so his response to an invitation to participate in the annual Seattle to Portland ride long ago was telling. “If I want to be miserable,” he said, “all I have to do is put a piece of sandpaper in my shorts, have my wife squirt me with the hose, and ride around the block a few times.”
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 15, 2011
This post by Brett Lindstrom, national/international sales manager of Speedplay, was in response to this recent story.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 27, 2011
Well, I guess it’s time to face the sobering reality… it’s Megan Tompkins’ last week at BRaIN.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 9, 2011
Lance’s impact on the bike industry is as controversial as his alleged drug use. With all the recent chatter and analysis, let’s correct some of the revisionist history being spun.
Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 9, 2011
For once Ray I'll disagree with something you've written. There are a number of reasons your argument that racing doesn't sell bikes doesn't hold water:
Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis